Retroactive: TMNT 1991 & Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 2004

retroactive

In this Retroactive edition I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular franchise with each entry covering an entire year of all the major related titles. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each franchise. Last time on Retroactive we covered TMNT 1990 and Hellboy & the B.P.R.D. 2003. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two franchises that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that franchise. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the fourth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 1991
tmntlogo

___________________________________________________

Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 2004
Hellboylogo
________________________________________________________

My Favourite Covers
top_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

8 thoughts on “Retroactive: TMNT 1991 & Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 2004

  1. I really like Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Adventures Vol. 2 #16.
    As you know, I’m a western fan, so, when I saw the western outfit of the villain, I instantly thought “This is the one.”
    But there are a lot of other details that won me over. The artistic choice of not showing the face of the villain, the raging faces of the turtles and of their ally, the smashed glass behind them, the contrast between the old – fashioned outfit of the villain and the sci – fi setting… yes, this cover definitely deserves the 1st prize.
    The other gold medal goes to B.P.R.D.: Plague of Frogs #4.
    The first detail that caught my attention was the unusual attitude of the woman. She’s coming out from a flaming house, so you’d expect her to be panick – stricken: on the contrary, she is perfectly calm, and comes out of the flames as if there was nothing wrong. The contrast between her calmness and the dramatic power of the scene behind her is a huge plus of this cover.
    Secondly, I love the contrast between the warm colours used for the upper part of the cover and the cool colours used for the lower one.
    Thirdly, the scene depicted in the lower part of the cover raises a lot of questions. Why are those skeletons vanishing? Who were they before becoming skeletons? Which is the connection between them, the woman and the arson behind her?
    Special mention for B.P.R.D.: The Dead #2: the upper part of the cover grabs our attention because of its romantic vibe, and the lower one compels us to open the book in order to discover the identity of the man the woman is looking at.
    Bronze medal for Hellboy: Weird Tales #7, because of its remarkable aesthetic value.

    • “I really like Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Adventures Vol. 2 #16.”
      This was a very interesting year for the Turtle franchise. Some of the covers on the main title were bizarre and unlike any art style that had been featured before on the series (#38-#40). In fact, I actually started out writing my #1 selection for an entirely different cover but as I progressed I changed my mind halfway through. What was that cover you ask? Well it is none other than Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Adventures Vol. 2: Spring 1991. Seeing the Turtles party on with the cast of Archie while Josie and the Pussycats play on stage was awesome. My bronze medal goes to TMNT Adventures #18. Why? Well for no reason other than it features Mondo Gecko! Such a cool character design and I still remember to this day my fondness for his action figure when I was a kid. Sentimentality wins out!

      “The other gold medal goes to B.P.R.D.: Plague of Frogs #4.”
      The awesomeness of this cover cannot be denied. You summed it up perfectly and I have to admit that this is my runner-up with B.P.R.D.: The Dead #2 coming in third. That scene with Abe and his wife definitely has that romantic vibe until you take a closer inspection of the background and notice the huge monster emerging the shadows, ready to “embrace” them as well.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections!

      • “Sentimentality wins out!” I admit that sentimentality often influences my choices as well. 🙂
        “Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections!” Thank you as well for your compliments and for your replies! 🙂

    • “TMNT #37 is a great wrap around cover, very spooky setting as well.”
      The use of fog is brilliant and the way the trees curl and appear to have eyes and what looks to be teeth is truly odd and horrifying.

      “Love the cover of Hellboy Odder Jobs as well, something very mystical about the background, love it.”
      This cover is both subdued and beautiful at the same time. I love the background which is very reminiscent of a water colour.

      Thanks for providing your picks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

