On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 01/07/15

Radar Each week, countless titles see release from all the various comic companies out there. Some will be good, some will be bad, and some will be downright excellent. Of course, we don’t know which will be which but what we do know is which are our most anticipated. With that said, it is time once again to highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

________________________________________________________

Batman Eternal #40

Creative Team
Scott Snyder and Juan Jose Ryp
Solicitation
“It’s three-way battle for survival between Batman, The Riddler…and Mother Nature?”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
For 39 issues this series has been a highly enjoyable ride which ranks every week very high on my to-read list. This week it makes my Top 5 thanks to one man: the Riddler. An appearance and subsequent focus on one of my favourite Bat-villains ever will do that.
________________________________________________________

Green Lantern #38
Green Lantern #38
Creative Team

Robert Venditti and Admira Wijaya
Solicitation

“After the relentless challenges of ‘Lights Out,’ ‘Uprising’ and ‘Godhead,’ Hal Jordan heads to Earth for some much-needed R&R. But the results of his leading the Corps weigh heavily on his shoulders, as do the personal costs. The next perilous saga in the career of the greatest Green Lantern is about to begin – and Hal doesn’t even know it yet! Guest starring Carol Ferris!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Hal Jordan back on Earth? It’s about time! I can’t wait to see how everything plays out including his conversation with Carol which will be pretty awkward indeed. It is always a nice refresher to put a backseat on the fighting and get to the nice, juicy, emotional beats and this issue looks to deliver it in spades.
________________________________________________________

Hawkeye VS Deadpool #4
Hawkeye vs. Deadpool #4 (of 4)
Creative Team

Gerry Duggan and Matteo Lolli
Solicitation
“It’s been a wild ride, but we made it to this loony limited’s FINAL ISSUE! You wouldn’t want to be the only one on the block who doesn’t know how the story ends, wouldja? A BOMBASTIC conclusion to an EXPLOSIVE adventure of the DYNAMITE team of Hawkeye (Barton), Hawkeye (Bishop), and Deadpool (not Hawkeye). Explosions.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It 
Take one look at the cover and I dare you to not be interested. This mini was the perfect blend of action and humor and I’m truly sad to see it reach its conclusion. Hopefully it goes out with a bang instead of a whimper. Oh who am I kidding? It’s going to go out with a bang…a big bang!
________________________________________________________

Legendary Star-Lord #7
Legendary Star Lord #7
Creative Team

Sam Humphries and Paco Medina
Solicitation
“Peter comes face to face with Mr. Knife! And you won’t believe who’s behind that snazzy mask. And all this craziness seems to have put a little strain on Peter and Kitty’s relationship. You know what’ll fix that right up? SPACE DATE! Or rather…SPACE PRISON BREAK! Peter Quill, what a catch.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
The Peter-Kitty relationship is always the biggest highlight of this series for me as I can’t get enough of the two of them together. Mix that with a date that leads to a prison break (or is it the other way around?) and you get something that moves pretty high on my radar indeed.
________________________________________________________

The Punisher #14
Punisher #14
Creative Team

Nathan Edmondson and Mitch Gerads
Solicitation
“HOTEL HELL! The Howling Commandos have Frank Castle’s only remaining family sequestered in a swanky Los Angeles hotel. As L.A. erupts in chaos, Frank brings the fight, and most of L.A.’s gangs, to them. That hotel is about to get a lot less swanky.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
The Punisher dueling it out with his enemies in the confines of a hotel is the type of concept ripe for the picking. I can already imagine the memorable moments which will be contained and I’m sure I’ve barely scratched the surface.
________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
Action Comics #38
All-New X-Factor #19
Amazing Spider-Man #12
Birthright #4
Detective Comics #38
Earth 2 #30
Earth 2: World’s End #14
Fiction Squad #4
Green Arrow #38
Iron Fist: The Living Weapon #8
Spider-Man 2099 #7
The Woods #9
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 01/07/15 goes to….
Hawkeye vs. Deadpool #4 (of 4)
Hawkeye VS Deadpool #4
I’m ready for this series to end while leaving me with a big smile on my face!
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (7 Issues), Marvel (7 Issues), and Independent (3 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

10 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 01/07/15

  1. Really looking forward to Batman Eternal #40 as well, great to see the Riddler featuring in this story. Batman Eternal has been such a good storyline. Also looking forward to Amazing Spiderman #12 and the next part of the Spiderverse.

  2. All-New X-Factor, Angela, My Little Pony, Operation SIN, Spider-Man 2099, Squirrel Girl (obviously – how can you not be getting that one, when it’s going to be such adorable fun?) and X-Men (which will be written by G. Willow Wilson, whose Ms. Marvel has earned her the benefit of the doubt on her X-Men arc).

    • I may try Squirrel Girl. I’m undecided at the moment. Same goes for X-Men which I had dropped issues ago but if Wilson can carry the brilliance that is Ms. Marvel into the pages of this comic then it might be a keeper. Thanks for sharing your list!

  3. Every time I hear something else about Batman Eternal, i want to read it more. So when the full series releases on paperback, I’m just going to have to buy them all and read the full event over a weekend or something. I’ve done that sort of thing before, having read the full X-Men: Fatal Attractions omnibus in 2 days.

    Anyway, I’m also looking forward to Legendary Star Lord 7 for the same reason, along with Wolverines (although I’m also a bit nervous about it considering they pointlessly killed off a New X-Men character). Also picking up Vampirella 8, IXth Generation 1, All New X-Factor 19, Amazing Spider-Man 12, Angela: Asgard’s Assassin 2 and Weapon X Program 5. I might also pick up Red Sonja Vulture’s Circle 1 and Avengers: No More Bullying just to support the idea of the special.

    • Reading Batman Eternal in one go will probably be the more fulfilling experience. I’m just happy that Season 2 is confirmed for the weekly!

      As for Wolverines, I’ll live through you on that series. A $3.99 weekly is way too much for me…

      Thanks for sharing your pull-list. It is always appreciated. 🙂

  4. My list is looking like Batman Eternal, Birthright, The Fade Out, Nailbiter, Amazing Spidey, Angela, Ant-Man, Hulk, Iron Fist, Star Lord, Men of Wrath, Spidey 2099, will try Squirrel Girl, and a bunch more including trades. I read more, but I usually borrow those.

Leave a Reply

