Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2014 & Daredevil 2014

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Legends of the Dark Knight 2014legendsofthedarkknight___________________________________________________

Daredevil 2014daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

4 thoughts on “Retroactive: Legends of the Dark Knight 2014 & Daredevil 2014

  1. I really like Legends of the Dark Knight: 100-Page Super Spectacular #4.
    As you know, I love when the villain’s face is not shown, and all we can see are some details of his body like his back or an arm. This is exactly what happened here, so this cover instantly won me over.
    Also, notice that the glove of the villain has some scalloped fins, exactly like the ones Bruce has on its costume. That makes me think that in this issue we could see Batman facing a villain who is very similar to him, a sort of Batman gone bad: as I told you in an old Retroactive edition (https://thegothamrogue.wordpress.com/2013/09/07/retroactive-detective-comics-1981-amazing-spider-man-2005/), I love this concept.
    But the villain is not the only reason why I gave this cover the gold medal. I also like the scene in front of him: as you can see, he managed to have Batman over a barrel, and that speaks volumes of how insidious this villain is.
    And then you look at Bruce’s feet, and you realize that not only this villain has put Batman in a tight corner, but he also defeated the Joker, Clayface and Killer Croc. That makes you feel even more fascinated by him, and even more compelled to open the book to find out who he is, how did he manage to do that and so on.
    As for Matt, I pick Daredevil Vol. 4 #3.
    First of all, in the foreground you can see a statue of the goddess of justice: she’s covered with ivy, and this is a brilliant metaphor to convey the message that nowadays justice is an underestimated value, something people stopped caring about, exactly like the gardener of that park stopped caring about the upkeep of that statue.
    Also, notice that the plants at the feet of that statue form the Daredevil logo: this is a delightful Easter Egg that would deserve the gold medal alone.
    Thirdly, I love the spooky background, with a black sky enriched by some purple clouds and Daredevil’s head ominously impending over the statue.
    Also, notice that a tear is coming down from Daredevil’s left eye. Probably this is linked with the concept I expressed before: justice doesn’t work anymore, and Matt, being a lawyer, is so sad about it that he can’t help crying because of that.
    I think that my theory is correct, because in the previous issues the Sons of the Serpent had taken control of the judicial system, and had turned a trial Matt was involved in into a pure farce. Probably that’s why he feels so embittered.

    • “I really like Legends of the Dark Knight: 100-Page Super Spectacular #4.”
      This is definitely one of those instances when as soon as I saw the cover I knew it would be your #1 pick. Your analysis did the cover justice and I’m happy to say that it is my runner-up cover for sure.

      “Also, notice that the plants at the feet of that statue form the Daredevil logo: this is a delightful Easter Egg that would deserve the gold medal alone.”
      I completely missed that. Nice catch! After reading your thoughts I had to upgrade this cover into my Top 5. For me, my silver medalist is DD Vol. 3 #36. It is the perfect cover to end the volume on. It is filled with lots of detail, I love the way the office transitions into the city, and the look on Matt’s face is heartbreaking. Bronze goes to DD Vol. 4 #5 due to its eye-catching scene as the reader sees through the eyes of Foggy who appears to be being buried alive with his friends just watching. Rounding out my Top 5 is your choice and DD Vol. 3 #35’s horrifying image as Daredevil is not only drowning but looks like he is being hung as well. Talk about “overkill.” 🙂

      Thanks, as always, for the terrific analysis and for providing your selections.

  2. Legends of the Dark KNight #100 page spectacular is a stunning cover, a classic scene with Batman swinging toward us, brilliant! I love Daredevil vol 4 #1.50 its a classic cover and brilliant issue. Great issue as well & celebration of Daredevil. What a great edition of retroactive !

Leave a Reply

