On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 01/14/15

Radar Each week, countless titles see release from all the various comic companies out there. Some will be good, some will be bad, and some will be downright excellent. Of course, we don’t know which will be which but what we do know is which are our most anticipated. With that said, it is time once again to highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

________________________________________________________

Batgirl #38
Batgirl #38
Creative Team
Cameron Stewart and Babs Tarr
Solicitation
“Things are going surprisingly well in Batgirl’s new life! But nothing good ever lasts long in Gotham City – and the other yellow boot is about to drop…hard!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Okay, so the previous issue was very divisive and unfortunately lost a quite a few people’s faith in this title. It even led to the creators apologizing for their work. Now comes the issue after and while some may have sworn it off for good, this series deserves a second chance. Be it for the ter6rific art, the modern approach, or the snappy dialogue, this series is one of my favourite offerings from DC. The tease of the proverbial other boot going to fall just adds to my anticipation as I try to figure out what is going to happen.
________________________________________________________

Daredevil #12
Daredevil #12
Creative Team

Mark Waid and Chris Samnee
Solicitation

“The shocking conclusion to Stunt-Master’s death defying dare! The Owl begins to set his machinations into motion! And another old foe waits in the wings to blindside the Man Without Fear!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Over the course of one single issue I came to care for a former villain I never knew existed, came to despise the new iteration, and was taken aback by the sometimes funny, other times dramatic tale that unfolded in its pages. Now comes the second part and I’m on the edge of my seat to see if Daredevil can emerge unscathed. Add that to the Owl setting his endgame into motion and a mystery villain getting ready for revenge and you have a can’t miss issue.
________________________________________________________

Grayson #6
Grayson #6
Creative Team

Tim Seeley and Mikel Janin
Solicitation
“It’s the battle you never thought you’d see, as Grayson goes toe to toe with the Midnighter!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It 
We’ve been building up to this confrontation since the first issue and the time has finally arrived for the fight to commence. Who will win? Will it be an epic battle? Or will the two heroes fight and then team-up to fight a common foe? If I was to bet I’m going to say that the creative team will do what they also do: defy our expectations and buck the trend of classic tropes.
________________________________________________________

Hexed #6
Hexed #6
Creative Team

Michael Alan Nelson and Dan Mora
Solicitation
“The race between Lucifer and Madam Cymbaline to assemble the stolen magical repertoire of Val’s basement hurtles on, as Lucifer and her crew set their eyes on the ultimate heist-sneaking into Graeae Towers themselves. Meanwhile, Raina struggles to control her newfound necromancing powers and Val copes with the deal she’s made with the Harlot.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Going onto its sixth issue, this title is fast becoming one of my Top Three Independent series being produced today. The art is drop-dead gorgeous but it is the characters that truly elevate it to another plain. The various relationships between the characters and the machinations of the villains is great while the mention of a heist has my undivided attention.
________________________________________________________

Silver Surfer #8
Silver Surfer #8
Creative Team

Dan Slott and Michael Allred
Solicitation
“‘The Damnation Dilemma’ The Surfer finds himself drawn to the most “unlikely planet” he’s ever sensed in all his cosmic travels. A population of 666 billion sentient beings . . . made up of 666.667 billion races. What is the secret of the world where practically no two lifeforms are the same?  And while Norrin Radd deals with this mystery, Dawn Greenwood comes face-to-face with ‘The Greatest Monster In The Galaxy!'”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Slott and Allred nail it every issue with their one-and-done format. Dawn and the Surfer are perfect together and what is essentially Marvel’s take on Doctor Who is a can’t miss every time it sees release.
________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
Avengers #34.2
Avengers #40
Batman Eternal #41
Copperhead #5
Deadpool #40
Earth 2: World’s End #15
Green Lantern Corps #38
New Suicide Squad #6
Rai #6
Smallville Season 11: Continuity #2
Spider-Verse #2
Superman/Wonder Woman #15
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 01/14/15 goes to….
Daredevil #12
Daredevil #12
The last issue was so good and I’m expecting its follow-up chapter to be more of the same awesomeness!
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (8 Issues), Marvel (6 Issues), and Independent (3 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

7 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 01/14/15

  1. I didn’t mind the last issue of Batgirl. It wasn’t as good as the previous two, but it wasn’t that bad. I still have every intention to pick up this week’s entry. The comic I’m most looking forward to is Captain Marvel 11, which is a bit of a delayed Christmas special and a sequel to the 100th issue special. Also picking up Amazing X-Men 15, Cyclops 9, Wolverines 2, X-Force 14, Justice League United 8 and since I have a small pull list, I might as well pick up Star Wars 1. My maybe list is Conan & Red Sonja 1 and Vampirella 100, but I’m not all that interested in a crossover with Conan and Vampirella 100 is $8; a steep price for a title I’m enjoying, but wouldn’t call myself a fan of.

    • I did not take any big offense to the issue of Batgirl either but there sure was a strong outcry over the issue. As for Amazing X-Men, I went back and forth as the concept was intriguing as we search for a new Juggernaut but I had to decide between it or X-Men and in the end G. Willow Wilson won out. Star Wars, on the other hand, is a pass for me. I enjoy the movies but with all the other great comics out there it was a really easy cut for me. If I never start, I never have to worry about stopping. Thanks for sharing your pull-list!

Leave a Reply

