Between The Continuity – The Academy Awards Presented To You By A Comic Book Villain

Icon

So today is the day of the 87th Annual Academy Awards hosted by the Music Meister/Doctor Horrible himself, Neil Patrick Harris. This year, I thought I’d do something different and offer my predictions in select categories. What would be these categories you ask? Well any that contains either an actual comic book movie (sorry Birdman) or for the acting ones, a prominent actor or actress from a prior comic book movie. So without further ado:

Best Actor:
Steve Carell, Foxcatcher
Bradley Cooper, American Sniper
Benedict Cumberbatch, The Imitation Game
Michael Keaton, Birdman
Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything

Comic Relation: Michael Keaton played Batman in Batman and Batman Returns while Benedict Cumberbatch will be playing Doctor Strange.
My Prediction: While Eddie Redmayne is the favourite to win, I’m going with Michael Keaton. Call it both a sentimental and gut reaction.

Best Actress:
Marion Cotillard, Two Days, One Night
Felicity Jones, The Theory of Everything
Julianne Moore, Still Alice
Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
Reese Witherspoon, Wild

Comic Relation: Marion Cotillard played a role in the Dark Knight Rises while Felicity Jones played Felicia Hardy in Amazing Spider-Man 2.
My Prediction: She’s been winning quite a lot of the awards leading up to this one, so I’m going with Julianne Moore.

Best Supporting Actor:
Robert Duvall, The Judge
Ethan Hawke, Boyhood
Edward Norton, Birdman
Mark Ruffalo, Foxcatcher
J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

Comic Relation:
Both Edward Norton and Mark Ruffalo played the Hulk while J.K. Simmons played the perfect rendition of J. Jonah Jameson in all three of the Sam Raimi Spider-Man films.
My Prediction: Breaking News! J.K. Simmons cruises to a victory in this category, hands down.

Best Supporting Actress:
Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
Laura Dern, Wild
Keira Knightley, The Imitation Game
Emma Stone, Birdman
Meryl Streep, Into The Woods

Comic Relation: Emma Stone played Gwen Stacy in Amazing Spider-Man and its sequel.
My Prediction: The woman I want to see win and the woman who I think will win is one and the same: Patricia Arquette.

Best Animated Feature:
Big Hero 6
The Boxtrolls
How To Train Your Dragon 2
Song of the Sea
The Tale of Princess Kaguya

Comic Relation: Big Hero 6
My Prediction: The Lego Movie is the 100%, no questions asked victor in this….oh, that’s right…the Academy had the audacity not to even nominate it. How To Train Your Dragon 2 then.

Best Visual Effects:
Captain America: The Winter Soldier
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
Guardians of the Galaxy
Interstellar
X-Men: Days of Future Past

Comic Relation: Captain America, Guardians, and X-Men.
My Prediction: Despite three of the five nominees being comic book movies, I sadly have to say that Dawn of the Planet of the Apes did the better job in relation to selling the visual effects and creating perfect main characters with them.

Best Makeup and Hairstyling:
Foxcatcher
The Grand Budapest Hotel
Guardians of the Galaxy

Comic Relation: Guardians of the Galaxy
My Prediction: Come on Academy! Guardians deserves to win this due to all the practical make-up they used on the aliens rather than going the CGI route.

And those are my predictions. Now I’m not the best one to ask seeing how I’ve barely seen anything nominated but I’d love to hear everyone else’s picks in the comments below!

-GothamRogue

________________________________________________________
Previously On
The Comic-Verse: Awesome Art & The Top 15 Featured Links (02/12/15-02/18/15)
The Vanier Report: Tales From A DC Pull List (The Multiversity: Mastermen #1 Review)
On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 02/25/15
________________________________________________________

twitter-logo

Top Tweets
_______________________________

[tweet https://twitter.com/Ssnyder1835/status/568183721200889856 hide_thread=’true’]

[tweet https://twitter.com/ComicBookGrrl/status/568804621084450817 hide_thread=’true’]

[tweet https://twitter.com/VancityReynolds/status/568817243838132224 hide_thread=’true’]

[tweet https://twitter.com/Kooliebear/status/568905823285583872 hide_thread=’true’]

[tweet https://twitter.com/GailSimone/status/568749644617949184 hide_thread=’true’]

[tweet https://twitter.com/cullenbunn/status/569243696245243904 hide_thread=’true’]

________________________________________________________

looking-aheadWho will emerge with the hardware tonight? And next week, it is my February wrap-up!
________________________________________________________

On that note, this week’s offering of Between The Continuity has reached its end. I hope everyone has an excellent week and manages to read some great stuff. Until next time, I leave you with three words that sum up this blog and life in general:

To-be-continued

13 thoughts on “Between The Continuity – The Academy Awards Presented To You By A Comic Book Villain

  1. I haven’t watched all the nominees yet but my picks are pretty much the same as yours :D. The only difference is that I think I slightly give the edge to Big Hero 6 over Dragon 2, it’s a tough call because both are great movies. Not sure why Lego got ignored by the Academy lol.

      • Michael Keaton might not get another crack at a best actor Oscar, so it is unfortunate, especially because I heard that sometimes the Academy votes are based on an actor’s body of work (not that I necessarily agree with that lol). The only reason I would think GBH got best makeup is because of the transformation of Tilda Swinton into an very old lady, but that’s one character compared to all the alien characters in GOTG. 😀

  2. The nominated movies I watched are:

    Begin Again
    Gone Girl
    Grand Budapest Hotel
    Selma
    The Theory of Everything

    Begin Again is by far the best one. It’s the best movie I’ve seen since Everybody’s Fine, which was released in 2009.
    The other 4 movies were good (except for The Theory of Everything, which I didn’t like at all), so I’m really glad that Selma and Grand Budapest Hotel managed to win something.
    Among the nominated movies I haven’t seen, the only ones I want to watch are Inherent Vice and Wild.
    What about you? Are you satisfied with the verdicts? Which nominated movies have you seen or are you going to see?

    • “Are you satisfied with the verdicts?”
      As I mentioned to Sidekick Reviews, I was deeply saddened that Keaton didn’t pull out the victory and flabbergasted that Guardians lost the make-up award to the Grand Budapest Hotel.

      “Which nominated movies have you seen”
      Into The Woods
      Big Hero 6
      How To Train Your Dragon 2
      The Lego Movie
      The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies
      Interstellar
      Captain America: The Winter Soldier
      Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
      Guardians of the Galaxy
      X-Men: Days of Future Past
      My Top 3 Movies of those would have to be GOTG, the Lego Movie, and Captain America.

      “Which are you going to see?”
      I would have to say that Birdman and the Grand Budapest Hotel definitely caught my attention.

Leave a Reply

