Between The Continuity – Discussing March 2015

Icon

Well, March is officially over and it is that time once again to look back at the month that was. I am happy to say that it was an awesome month, ranking as not only my best March ever but my 2nd best month ever in the entire history of this blog! Looking back, my Top 12 articles for the month in terms of total views were as follows:

#1: The Character Spotlight – Special Edition: Jennifer Walters (She-Hulk)
#2: Retroactive Special Edition: Green Arrow Through The Decades
#3: The Comic-Verse: Awesome Art & The Top 15 Featured Links (03/05/15-03/11/15)
#4: The Vanier Report: Tales From A DC Pull List (Gotham By Midnight #5 Review)
#5: Retroactive: Nightwing 2003 & Fantastic Four 1964
#6: The Character Spotlight – Issue #6: Star-Lord (Peter Quill)
#7: The Vanier Report: Tales From A DC Pull List (Action Comics #40 Review)
#8: wwayne Presents – Retroactive: Gotham Central 2006 & Generation X 1997
#9: The Cosplay Runway 03/21/15
#10: The Vanier Report: Tales From A DC Pull List (Secret Origins #10 Review)
#11: The Cosplay Runway 03/13/15
#12: The Vanier Report: Tales From A DC Pull List (Swamp Thing #40 Review)

Of the Top 12 it is no surprise that healed1337‘s She-Hulk guest piece and the Special Edition Retroactive of Green Arrow where my Top 2 features since I decided to promote both on Reddit. What I did not anticipate was how much traffic I’d get as they are both my Top 2 features for the entire year so far and rank 5th and 8th all-time! Thanks again healed1337. The Vanier Report continues to pay dividends coming in with 4 spots with the Gotham By Midnight one being of considerable note as Batman writer, Scott Snyder, promoted it on his Twitter account:

[tweet https://twitter.com/Ssnyder1835/status/581452381805625345 hide_thread=’true’]

Rounding out the rest of the Top 12 are two other editions of Retroactive including one of wwayne’s guest features, a shockingly high placement of an edition of the Comic-Verse, the old standby Character Spotlight on Star-Lord, and two well-received editions of my new feature entitled the Cosplay Runway. In other areas my Top 5 referrers were Reddit, Facebook, Twitter, WordPress Reader, and Modern Mythologies. Finally, My Top 5 Search Terms were “star lord”, “detective comics 85”, “firefly the batman”, “mothers day dc comics”, and “secret origins 10 poison ivy.” And that is March in summation!

In other news, this weekend marks Fan Expo Vancouver, an event that I always look forward to. While this year is a little disappointing with a real lack of celebrities and comic guests compared to other years, I’m still pumped to go. The guest I’m looking forward to seeing the most has to be Karen Gillan from Doctor Who and Guardians of the Galaxy. It was a real rollercoaster ride this year since she was announced, then had to pull out, and then did a last-minute reshuffling of her schedule in order to make it. Look for my thoughts on the Expo sometime next week!

-GothamRogue

________________________________________________________
Previously On
#Trending In The World Of Comics 03/23/15: (A New Killing Joke, Civil War Synopsis, Hot Trailers, & More!)
The Comic-Verse: Awesome Art & The Top 15 Featured Links (03/19/15-03/25/15)
Comic Art Showcase: Issue #3 – Ra’s al Ghul
The Vanier Report: Tales From A DC Pull List (Gotham By Midnight #5 Review)
The Cosplay Runway 03/27/15
Retroactive Special Edition: Green Arrow Through The Decades
On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 04/01/15
#Trending In The World Of Comics 03/30/15: (Deadpool Debuts, Luthor Not To Be Left Out, Hot Trailers, & More!)
________________________________________________________

looking-aheadI might be pretty limited on the Speech Bubble for the rest of this week what with preparing for the Expo, going to the Expo, and Easter holidays. Bear with me!
________________________________________________________

On that note, this week’s offering of Between The Continuity has reached its end. I hope everyone has an excellent week and manages to read some great stuff. Until next time, I leave you with three words that sum up this blog and life in general:

To-be-continued

6 thoughts on “Between The Continuity – Discussing March 2015

  1. That’s kind of exciting to read, and motivates me to think of writing a few more spotlights. I’m not yet an expert on Captain Marvel (Carol Danvers) so it’s a bit early for that, nor am I all that experienced with Supergirl outside of the New 52. Perhaps a Batman spotlight, focusing on movies instead of comics? Maybe a couple X-Men character spotlights, like Kitty Pryde, Cable or X-23? I’ll save X-23 for in case she takes on Wolverine’s mantle after Wolverines or Secret Wars. Maybe a Witchblade character spotlight since I enjoy that series and have read almost every issue of the main series now (I’m missing about 10 issues in its 180+ issue run).

    • All your ideas sound great. Some X-Men character spotlights are a very intriguing prospect as would be a Witchblade one considering your in-depth knowledge of the character. I eagerly await your next one. 🙂

  2. These are the comic books I read in March 2015:

    Batman: Arkham Unhinged Vol. 4
    Hawkeye # 21
    Green Arrow # 39
    Superman/Wonder Woman # 16
    Swamp Thing # 32
    Moon Knight # 11 – 12

    The last volume of Batman: Arkham Unhinged was the best read of the month. This time Green Arrow # 39 gets only the 3rd prize, because Hawkeye # 21 won a very surprising silver medal. You never know what you’ll get with this series: sometimes Hawkeye is a 5 stars comic book, some other times it’s incredibly complicated and annoying. At least this is my opinion.
    Congratulations for your successful month! For my blog, on the contrary, March 2015 was quite insignificant: I got 1695 views, which is slightly less than the 1751 views I got in February. Was March 2015 a satisfying month for your reads as well?

    • It took a long time to come out, but it was good to see that Hawkeye #21 was worth the wait. Now if only the last issue of that volume would see the light of day. Crazy that the new volume has started before the last one.

      Being a big fan of the Arkham games, I definitely am going to get the whole trade collection one of these days.

      “Was March 2015 a satisfying month for your reads as well?”
      Always my friend, always. While I may be significantly behind on my reading, I’m sure to keep up on a select few titles each time they come out. The finale of Batman Eternal was rather brilliant. 🙂

      • “Crazy that the new volume has started before the last one.” I didn’t know that. It is strange indeed.
        “Being a big fan of the Arkham games, I definitely am going to get the whole trade collection one of these days.” And you won’t be disappointed, that’s for sure! 🙂
        “The finale of Batman Eternal was rather brilliant.” That doesn’t surprise me. The few issues of Batman Eternal I read were mostly well done.
        Thank you for your replies! 🙂

Leave a Reply

