The Comic Connection: Issue #33

comicconnection Welcome to the thirty-third edition of the Comic Connection! The main point of its existence is to share and discuss, to Connect through Comics. Its centrepiece is the Weekly Question, a question I will pose dealing with anything Comic related. Then I turn it over to you and to Twitter to offer any feedback/your opinion on the topic with your answers being featured on next week’s posting. I’ll also share some cool comic-related fan art along with links to my favourite blogs. With that said, let’s revisit last week’s question:

________________________________________________________

Last week I asked “Which of the four 13-episode Marvel Netflix shows are you most looking forward to?” To see my answer on the topic visit HERE. As for what the rest of you had to say…

@paul_bowler: I’m really looking forward to the Daredevil series, I’m a big fan of the comic, and I think the character is an ideal choice for series like this. With Matt’s life in a law firm and fighting crime as Daredevil, there is so much potential for dark and gritty storylines. Also, Matt’s personal life and relationships would be a great focal point for the show. So excited about this show. Casting the role will be crucial to its success. I also think a story arc is essential, as this would give the story and cast a chance to develop more. The Defenders also sounds great, can’t wait for that!

@ReidVanier: I’ve got to say, I’m definitely excited for Daredevil – he’s going to work well as a character on TV because his skill set and story are something that is easily transferable to episodic format. You have a sort of twisted “Law and Order” show between his life as Matt Murdock and how the cases he’s working tie into his superheroics. That said…Luke Cage. Need I say more?

@SidekickReviews: I’m most looking forward to Daredevil. There is so much potential such a great story arc that can only be done in a 13 episode format or mix it up with some case of the week episodes.

xmenxpert: I’m going to say Jessica Jones. I’d like to see a gritty, cynical series, with a lot of sarcastic humour, and plenty of good noir detective stuff. She’s definitely the one with the lowest profile. Daredevil’s been around since the ’60s, and has even had a movie. Luke Cage and Iron Fist have both been around since the ’70s, and have had runs in multiple notable books, both solo and team. Jessica’s only been around a little over a decade, hasn’t been a major part of any high-selling titles, and is just generally not particularly famous. But that also means people won’t really have high expectations going in. People want a lot out of the other three. With Jessica Jones, most viewers will probably go in with more open minds. If people want Frank Miller Daredevil, and they get Mark Waid Daredevil, they’re going to be disappointed.

@ComicBookStop: Daredevil! I always liked the character. I thought the movie was ok but could’ve done more. Maybe a TV show is the way to go! / What Arrow did for the Green Arrow, I think this TV show will do for Daredevil.

@CryhavocDOW: Daredevil

@JoeTeulon: DAREDEVIL!!

@JustDize: No doubt, Daredevil

@SamPenman88: Daredevil

________________________________________________________

“Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman: Yay or Nay?”
________________________________________________________

Last week DC announced that they had found their live-action Wonder Woman in the form of actress Gal Gadot for their Superman VS Batman movie. The reaction from a lot of comic book fans was a collective “Who?” Mostly known for her role in the Fast & the Furious movie franchise, Ms. Gadot is a former Miss Israel and actually served in the Israeli Army for a stint. As with any casting choice, fandom has been split on the decision. What side of the line am I on? Well, before I reveal that, let’s rundown the most common Pros and Cons associated with the decision. Without further ado:

Pros
She’s a relative unknown so her previous roles won’t overshadow the character
She’s beautiful and has an exotic look

Cons
She’s had few roles which translates to a lack of acting experience
She’s too skinny to believably be an Amazon warrior

My Take
I have no qualms about her lack of experience and cannot judge her acting ability since I’ve seen absolutely nothing that she has been in. For everyone that complains about her lack of muscles and general skinniness I say get over it. Countless other actors before her have worked out and gained bulk with the most notable example being Christian Bale who went from a 121 pound stick to the Dark Knight we all know and love. I’m sure that Director Zack Snyder is going to get her to hit the gym and her time in the Israeli Army will only benefit her work ethic. Yes, I can think of at least three other actresses off the top of my head that they could have hired instead but I have confidence that they know what they are doing. So, after weighing everything…my answer is YAY.
________________________________________________________

Comic Art Spotlight

Here I thought I’d share some of my favourite comic-related works of art from Yildiray Cinar. This is the third of four editions where I’ll be highlighting his work. To check-out more from him, go to his DeviantArt page HERE.

batman_by_cinar-d51e8zh________________________________________________________green_goblin_by_cinar-d2zy5ye________________________________________________________Hellboy_by_Cinar________________________________________________________green_lantern_01_by_cinar-d2zpz96________________________________________________________storm_by_cinar-d5xmfq6________________________________________________________ wonder_woman_by_cinar-d5cw1y4________________________________________________________Blog Quote Bubble

In this section I’ll highlight the various WordPress based blogs that I recommend:

House of Flying Scalpelshttp://houseofflyingscalpels.com/
Cover of the Week, Iconic Panel Art, and awesome reviews.

Sci-Fi Jubilee http://scifijubilee.wordpress.com/
Really nice in-depth reviews from a perfect gentleman residing in the UK.

Sidekick Reviewshttp://sidekickreviews.wordpress.com/
Blog I go to for excellent The Walking Dead and S.H.I.E.L.D. episode reviews.

The Indigo Tribe http://indigotribe.wordpress.com/
A blog about all things Green Lantern including reviews and musings.

Arousing Grammar http://arousinggrammar.com/
Great reviews that are a nice hybrid of commentary and full-page comic art.

X-Men X-Pert http://xmenxpert.wordpress.com/
A great blog that covers all things related to the X-Verse.

Bag & Bored http://bagandbored.net/
A comic book and entertainment review site run by a team of five. Varied content by a varied group.

Time Wants A Skeleton http://timewantsaskeleton.wordpress.com/
Reviews of comics, TV shows, and more. Never afraid to make her opinion known and all the better for it.

Disaster Couch http://disastercouch.com/
A self-professed dork of all trades who shares his views on a whole wealth of subjects.

Marvel Disassembledhttp://marveldisassembled.com/
If you are a fan of all things Marvel, this is the blog to visit with reviews and previews for every form of media.

The Comic Book Stophttp://thecomicbookstop.wordpress.com/
A blog whose aim is to spread news and produce quality comic reviews.

Modern Mythologies http://modernmythologies.com/
Exploring comic book rivalries and retro reviews with some pretty in-depth and engaging pieces.

Confessions of a Wednesday Warrior http://confessionsofawednesdaywarrior.com/
Reviewing graphic novels and crafting superb essays on a broad range of comic subjects twice a week.

________________________________________________________

That wraps up the thirty-third edition of The Comic Connection. Have any comments? Anything you wanted to share? You know what to do.

7 thoughts on “The Comic Connection: Issue #33

  1. My first reaction is she’s gorgeous. My second is who is Gal Gadot? After looking her up, I remember her from Fast Five but she didn’t have a prominent dramatic or action role to gauge her acting abilities. I haven’t seen her in anything else.

    To get the role of Wonder Woman she would have had multiple screen tests and the approval of the director & studio execs. I’m a Yay mainly because I want to keep an open mind and will judge her on her own merits after watching the movie. I do hear the nay sayers who point out that she’s hasn’t proven she can carry her own movie yet, assuming the studio intends on using Superman Vs Batman to spin off a solo film.

    Thanks again for the link 🙂

    • “I do hear the nay sayers who point out that she’s hasn’t proven she can carry her own movie yet, assuming the studio intends on using Superman Vs Batman to spin off a solo film.”
      I think DC’s plan is to introduce her here, have her in a more prominent role in Justice League, and then spin her off into a solo picture. By then everyone will know if she is up to snuff and can indeed carry a movie by herself. With any casting decision it seems most people have the gut reaction of he/she is a terrible choice and then they see the light. Heath Ledger anyone? I remember how the message boards exploded with negativity and look what we got: pure awesomeness.

      “Thanks again for the link”
      You are most welcome! And thanks for leaving a reply. 🙂

  2. I’m less concerned about Gal Godot as Wonder Woman as I am about how the film is going to treat the character. I have this nagging fear that Wonder Woman is going to be love triangle leverage either between Supes and Lois or between Clark and Bruce – both of which would be criminal underselling of the character.

    So I guess I say yay to Gal Godot because, as you`ve pointed out, stranger casting has turned out great. I`m just hoping they give Wonder Woman the proper film treatment.

    • Say it with me: “Hell no to Love Triangles!” 🙂 You bring up some valid points. We can dissect the cast all we want but if the script is not up to snuff it will all fall apart.

Leave a Reply

