Between The Continuity – Thursday Goes Retro (01/28/14)

Icon

Last week when I unveiled my new schedule I mentioned that Thursday was currently undetermined. After much deliberation I decided to have Thursday contain a Retroactive feature. But which one you ask? Is it Detective Comics/Daredevil or Flash/Uncanny X-Men? The answer is…neither. That’s right. I’m happy to announce that I’m bringing a third edition of my most successful feature to The Speech Bubble. What this means is a slight tweaking to last week’s new schedule. Retroactive will now take place on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday which results in Friday’s new feature starting in February (Around The Web) to shift to Thursdays as well.

Now this third edition of Retroactive will be slightly different from the other two as it will feature titles that have significantly less issues than the quote-unquote legacy titles. That means no Action Comics, Fantastic Four, and the like. Only series that are south of 300 issues will qualify and I have decided on two perfect ones to kick us off.

First up, representing DC is a character that made his debut in 1941 but did not get a title with only his name on it until 42 years later in 1983. Over the last two years he’s gotten more recognition thanks to his hit live action television series. Yes, that is right. DC will be represented by none other than…Green Arrow.

As for Marvel, this character didn’t have to wait as long as Oliver Queen haven debuted in 1974 and only having to wait until 1986 for his chance. This year he’s getting a newly relaunched volume and I thought what better way to honor him then to look back at what came before. For Marvel that character is none other than…the Punisher. Hopefully everyone enjoys this new edition of Retroactive as much as the others!

________________________________________________________
Previously On
#Trending In The World Of Comics: 01/15/14-01/22/14 (A United Justice League, Nightcrawler Goes Solo, & Other News)
#Trending In The World Of Comic Media: 01/16/14-01/24/14 (Batman Vs Superman Delayed, S.H.I.E.L.D. Gets Marvel Characters, & Other News)
Retroactive: Detective Comics 2005 & Daredevil 1980
On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 01/29/14
“Kneel Before DC, Marvel’s Superiority, & Imagination Runs Wild” – The Top 5 & Comic Book Rankings: 01/15/14-01/21/14
________________________________________________________

looking-aheadThe first edition of Green Arrow/The Punisher debuts on Thursday!
________________________________________________________

On that note, this week’s offering of Between The Continuity has reached its end. I hope everyone has an excellent week and manages to read some great stuff. Until next time, I leave you with three words that sum up this blog and life in general:

To-be-continued

5 thoughts on “Between The Continuity – Thursday Goes Retro (01/28/14)

    • I thought that would make you happy. Once I decided to do a third one under this format Green Arrow was my instant choice. The Marvel one took me a bit of time but I eventually went with Mr. Castle. Hopefully, like Daredevil, I learn more about the character of the Punisher as we go along.

  1. Wow, I really enjoy the retroactive features, brilliant there will now be a third instalment as well. Green Arrow and the Punisher make perfect characters for this series! Brilliant. Will look forward to this. Have a great week!

      • Thank you, I’m sure I will. I’ve not collected either series that much, so will be fun to see the different covers. I did like Green Arrow when he was in the same title as Green Lantern, they did some great covers for those issue as I remember.

Leave a comment