Retroactive: The Flash 2001 & Uncanny X-Men 2008


In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered The Flash 2000 and Uncanny X-Men 2007. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the fourth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

The Flash 2001
flash-logo

___________________________________________________

Uncanny X-Men 2008
uncanny_xmenlogo

________________________________________________________

My Favourite Covers
top_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

6 thoughts on “Retroactive: The Flash 2001 & Uncanny X-Men 2008

  1. UXM # 493 is an immensely beautiful cover.
    We often see Cable acting as a perfect action hero: he often shows a raging face, runs towards his enemies with gnashing teeth, shoots with the biggest guns you’ve ever seen and so on.
    That’s why this cover is so shocking: because it reveals a hidden aspect of his personality, and shows him while he’s embracing a baby with an incredibly tender attitude. It grabs your attention not only because you would never expect that from Cable, but also because it is a very emotional and powerful image.
    Silver medal for UXM # 501, because it foreshadows one of my favourite situations in superhero comics: a riot in a murky blind alley. I also love the fact that the faces of the villains are not shown, and all you can see are their hands, holding a knife and a chain. By the way, those villains definitely have guts: you must be very brave to defy Cyclops with only a knife and a chain in your hands.
    Bronze medal for UXM # 497, because I love the idea of making the X – Men wear a hippy outfit.
    The other gold medal goes to Flash # 168, because it has a post – apocalyptic atmosphere I absolutely adore.
    Special mention for Flash # 176: snow + a damsel in distress + a detailed background = a medal for sure in wwayne’s ranking.

    • “UXM # 493 is an immensely beautiful cover.”
      As I mentioned here: https://thegothamrogue.wordpress.com/2014/04/30/my-time-at-fan-expo-vancouver-2014/, when I met David Finch he stated that this was one of his favourite covers he did for Marvel. It is hands down my runner-up for the year and I agree that the juxtaposition of Cable how we usually see him and this of him being a loving caregiver makes for a spectacular image. 3rd Place goes to #503’s playing card cover. I’m always a sucker whenever they use this concept and Greg Land pulled it off quite remarkably.

      “The other gold medal goes to Flash # 168, because it has a post – apocalyptic atmosphere I absolutely adore.”
      Again, your first place cover is my runner-up. Seeing Mirror Mater in utter ruin about the loss of his city clearly shows that he is not a megalomaniac but one that has a fond place in his heart for his city much like the Flash does. 3rd place goes to #169. Flash in a medieval setting? He must have time travelled…right? And why is he not speeding away form his captors? Has he lost his powers? Add that to some detailed architecture and you get a sure-fire winner.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your commentary.

      • “When I met David Finch he stated that this was one of his favourite covers he did for Marvel.” I had read that post, but I didn’t remember this anecdote. I’m really glad that you had the chance to meet such a talented artist, and you definitely did the right thing when you congratulated him on UXM # 493.
        “3rd place goes to #169.” As for my 3rd place, I’m puzzled. I really like the cover you chose, but Flash # 179 has a lot of details that please my eye: a gunfight, an explosion, a tagline foreshadowing the Joker’s presence… let’s say that Flash # 179 wins the bronze medal by a hair’s breadth.
        Also, I admit I hadn’t realized how great Flash # 169 is before reading your commentary.
        “Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your commentary.” Thank you as well for your reply! : )

        • For me that Joker cover just misses the podium while capturing 4th.

          “I admit I hadn’t realized how great Flash # 169 is before reading your commentary.”
          And I have felt that way many an edition of Retroactive after reading your commentary. 🙂

  2. Flash Vol 2 #168 is an intriguing cover, with Keystone City apparently scooped up and vanished off the face of the Earth? Love covers like this that pose a mystery, makes you want to read the issue right away! Well, I had to choose Uncanny X-Men #500! Wow, such an awesome cover with the X-Men battling impossible odds, Sentinels looming in the background and Magneto in the foreground, wonderful stuff 😀

    • You and wwayne agree on Flash, you and I agree on Uncanny. I think we can all agree though this was a great year for covers. 🙂

      Thanks for providing your choices. It is always appreciated.

Leave a Reply

