On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 11/26/14

Radar It is time once again to highlight the upcoming comics that I’m looking forward to the most, the ones that are On My Radar:

Flash Gordon Annual 2014
Flash Gordon Annual 2014
Creative Team
Jeff Parker and Others
Solicitation
“48 STORY PAGES! FIVE STORIES, all tying in to the hit Flash Gordon ongoing series! Kid Flash–Teenage Flash’s daring & dumb misadventures! Dale Arden–Hero of the science desk! Professor Zarkov–Drunken rocket scientist of the future! Shark Princess–Royal tribulations on one of Ming’s many conquered underwater worlds! Baby Flash–What kind of trouble did Flash get into before he was even out of diapers!? A cavalcade of fantastic fun featuring Jeff Parker (Batman ’66), Ben Acker & Ben Blacker (Thunderbolts, Thrilling Adventure Hour) & Chris Eliopoulos (Hawkeye)!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
48 pages of total nonstop excellence! I take a look at those five stories and can genuinely say that I’m excited for each one. That is always a rarity especially with these anthology type of issues but it speaks to the awesomeness that is this title. If I had to pick the one I’m most looking forward to? “Kid Flash” with Dale Arden’s tale coming right behind.

________________________________________________________

Gotham By Midnight #1
Gotham by Midnight #1
Creative Team

Ray Fawkes and Ben Templesmith
Solicitation

“Strange doings are afoot in Gotham City! Look out, though – Jim Corrigan is on the case in this new series by writer Ray Fawkes (CONSTANTINE, BATMAN ETERNAL) and artist Ben Templesmith (30 Days of Night, Ten Grand)!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
NEW SERIES ALERT! I’m a big fan of Batman and everything else that takes place in his world but this series leaves me with the most trepidation. On one hand, if it is anything like Gotham Central with a supernatural twist then I’ll be in for a good time. On the other hand, if it leans too much on the supernatural elements, foregoing character development and is teamed with muddy art then I’ll be sorely disappointed. It is because of this uncertainty that I’m looking forward to seeing which side of the fence it will land on.
________________________________________________________

Scarlet Spiders #1
Scarlet Spiders #1 (of 3)
Creative Team

Michael Costa and Paco Diaz
Solicitation
“The first issue in an explosive limited series tying into the biggest Spider-Event ever: SPIDER-VERSE! In the midst of Spider-Verse, Kaine, Ben Reilly, and Ultimate Jessica Drew must come together for a mission of vital importance! There is more to their mission than meets the eye–what dangers await the Scarlet Spiders across the multiverse?”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It 
A trio of Scarlet Spiders should produce some sensational, nay spectacular results. Really if I’m being honest though, I’m looking forward to see Ben Reilly (albeit an alternate universe Ben Reilly) in action once again. That alone is worth the price of admission for me.
________________________________________________________

Secret Avengers #10
Secret Avengers #10
Creative Team

Ales Kot and Michael Walsh
Solicitation
“‘THE GREAT CULLING IS HERE’ Trace the clues back to Secret Avengers #1. The sentence above means something. The true mastermind of the decay at the center of the Secret Avengers initiative is revealed. But then again–is there just one? Hawkeye and Coulson face off.”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
The best Avengers title on the stands today comes out with its next chapter, a chapter which looks to resolve quite a few percolating plot points that have been bubbling to the surface since the first issue. Stunning revelations, terrific action, amazing art, and a dash of humor is on the menu this week if the previous nine issues are any indication.
________________________________________________________

Superior Foes of Spider-Man #17
Superior Foes Of Spider-Man #17
Creative Team

Nick Spencer and Steve Lieber
Solicitation
“This is it! The end! The finale! The big wrapuperoo!!”
Why I’m Looking Forward To It
Oh Superior Foes of Spider-Man, I hardly knew you. My #1 Marvel series has sadly reached its conclusion and it is with a heavy heart that I bid it adieu. At least I can safely say that this final issue will hold nothing back. Thank you Spencer and Lieber, thank you very much!
________________________________________________________

Radar SpinOther Comics I’ll Be Purchasing
Arkham Manor #2
Batman Beyond Universe #16
Batman Eternal #34
Dead Boy Detectives #11
The Delinquents #4
Doctor Spektor #4
Earth 2: World’s End #8
The Flash #36
New Avengers #27
Red Lanterns #36
Spider-Man 2099 #6
Superior Iron Man #2
Superman #36
TMNT/Ghostbusters #2
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #40
________________________________________________________

And the title of my Most Anticipated Comic Book For 11/26/14 goes to….
Superior Foes Of Spider-Man #17
Superior Foes of Spider-Man #17
All good things must come to an end…
________________________________________________________

With that said, the final tally stands at DC Comics (9 Issues), Marvel (6 Issues), and Independent (5 Issues). So that’s my Pull List for the week. What’s yours? What comics are you most looking forward to? Comment below!

7 thoughts on “On The Radar: Comic Book Coming Attractions 11/26/14

  1. The covers you uploaded in this post are so eye – pleasing. The gorgeous tone of green used for the sky in the Flash Gordon cover, the pouring rain in the Hawkeye image, the marvellous slice – of – life scene in the last cover of Superior Foes of Spider – Man… all these details are immensely beautiful.

  2. It’s kind of funny … and awesome that Superior Foes of Spider-Man lasted longer than Superior Spider-Man. I never read the series, but I know it has plenty of fans and that it was well received. Maybe I’ll check it out sometime.

    My pull list is pretty small, partly because of several titles being delayed. My most anticipated is Ninja Turtles 40. The only other comics I’m picking up for sure is Amazing X-Men 13, New Warriors 12 (might as well finish the series), Scarlet Spiders 1 and Spider-Man 2099 6. Well, it will give me plenty of time to catch up on all my blog readings, YouTubing and reading after I finish writing my second book of the month.

    • “Maybe I’ll check it out sometime.”
      I highly recommend that you do. Save for a brief fill-in that was forgettable, the regular team knocked it out of the park. Too bad that it had criminally low sales matched with a title that had a limited shelf life. All-New Marvel NOW Amazing Foes of Spider-Man anyone? Nah, I don’t think we’re that lucky…

      “Well, it will give me plenty of time to catch up on all my blog readings, YouTubing and reading after I finish writing my second book of the month.”
      That is crazy that you’ve written two books in one month! Congratulations are in order. 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on Sourcerer and commented:
    Since we’re in a bit of a lull with the comics at the moment, I’ll just share this for those of you who are looking for your new book day fix. I’ve been following The Speech Bubble for awhile, and they come up with some awesome stuff.

Leave a Reply

