Retroactive: TMNT 1989 & Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 2002

retroactive

In this Retroactive edition I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular franchise with each entry covering an entire year of all the major related titles. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each franchise. Last time on Retroactive we covered TMNT 1988 and Hellboy & the B.P.R.D. 2001. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two franchises that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that franchise. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the fourth page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 1989
tmntlogo

___________________________________________________

Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 2002
Hellboylogo
________________________________________________________

My Favourite Covers
top_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

5 thoughts on “Retroactive: TMNT 1989 & Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. 2002

  1. I completely agree with the Turtle cover you chose.
    Special mention for TMNT # 19.
    First of all, it’s set in the sewer system: as you know, I love this setting.
    Secondly, I love the artistic choice of showing Raphael in a very bad shape: every single detail of his outfit and of his body language (open mouth, half – closed hands and so on) makes us understand that he’s going through a very bad patch. This cover grabs our attention not only because we feel sorry for Raphael, but also because it makes us wonder how did he end that way.
    Thirdly, I love the light effects upon his body, as I love the highly eye – pleasing tone of blue used for the background.
    As for Hellboy, I pick B.P.R.D.: Hollow Earth #3. I appreciate the artistic choice of splitting the cover into two parts, the upper one coloured with warm colours, the lower one coloured with cool ones. I also like some details of the character at the centre of the cover: face partially swathed in shadows, sceptre coloured with a gorgeous tone of yellow, red eyes ominously emerging from the darkness… yes, this cover definitely deserves the gold medal.
    P.S.: While I’m writing this comment, I’m listening to this wonderful song:

    • “Special mention for TMNT # 19.”
      And I would direct special attention to #20. That shot of the Triceraton is intense. His outfit is torn from battle, both hands wielding weapons, one for long distance and one for up-close combat. I’m certainly excited to witness this titanic confrontation.

      “As for Hellboy, I pick B.P.R.D.: Hollow Earth #3.”
      We were so close but in the end I awarded my runner-up prize to Hollow Earth #2. I love how our heroes are put in such a small panel compared to the overwhelming army of creatures that look to do battle with them. And like your cover, it also has a warm/cool contrast to spate the heroes from the villains.

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your selections and providing your excellent analysis. Also thanks for the song. It had my head bobbing to the rhythm. 🙂

  2. Well TMNT #18 is a great looking wrap around cover. Nice and colourful and makes good uses of all the characters. I like the dragons flame breath as well. Hellboy: The Third Wish is a wonderfully dark and atmospheric cover, with the moon in the back ground and Hellboy and the big cats in the foreground, brilliant!

    • Hellboy: Third Wish #1 is an awesome choice. It uses shadows and colouring to its advantage and I love the creepiness of the lions mixed in with the skulls.

      Thanks for providing your choices! It is appreciated.

Leave a Reply

