Retroactive: Detective Comics 2003 & Daredevil 1978

In Retroactive I’ll take you on a visual comic cover tour of the past covering all the covers for a particular series. Each entry will cover an entire year and I’ll always have one comic from DC and one comic from Marvel. At the end of each edition of Retroactive I’ll select my overall favourite cover for that year for each series. Last time on Retroactive we covered Detective Comics 2002 and Daredevil 1977. If you need a refresher, just click HERE. Below you’ll find the two series that I’m currently covering. Click on that specific logo to be instantly taken directly to that series. The last section is reserved for my Top Picks from each year. Click the logo or travel to the third page to view them.

________________________________________________________

Detective Comics 2003detective-comics-logo___________________________________________________

Daredevil 1978daredevillogo________________________________________________________

My Favourite Coverstop_picks_logo

________________________________________________________

com-next

 

8 thoughts on “Retroactive: Detective Comics 2003 & Daredevil 1978

  1. My favorite Bat – cover is Detective Comics # 776. It’s so ironic that, despite being a huge fan of Tim Sale, I picked the only cover that hasn’t been drawn by him.
    I decided to do so because it focuses on a detail many readers tend to forget: Batman is more a detective than a superhero. He’s not a superpowered guy who uses his physical gifts to defeat this villain or that: he’s a normal man who uses his intelligence to dismantle the evil plans his enemies routinely concoct. Yes, he punches his enemies just like Superman, Spider – Man and the other superheroes, but in Bat – comics this is an element of minor importance, while in many other comics it’s the whole point of the story.
    I also love the skull on the magnifying lens, possibly suggesting that the investigation Bruce is running is a high risk mission.
    Another ironic thing about the 2003 covers of Detective Comics is that here in Italy the image for issue # 779 has been put on the cover of a different comic book (the trade collecting the miniseries called Batman: Turning Points). That miniseries has an incredibly awful art, but the story is good.
    As for Matt, I give the gold medal to Daredevil # 150, because of its stunning and gorgeous light effects. Special mention for issue # 153, because it reminds me of one of the most beautiful covers you’ve ever uploaded (Daredevil # 86).

    • “My favorite Bat – cover is Detective Comics # 776. It’s so ironic that, despite being a huge fan of Tim Sale, I picked the only cover that hasn’t been drawn by him.”
      I very nearly did the exact same thing. I love so many things about this cover from the posture of Batman to the colouring choices to the magnifying glass with the skull and finally to that mysterious symbol behind him that is obscured. Using detective elements on a comic called Detective Comics? Who would have thought? 🙂

      “I decided to do so because it focuses on a detail many readers tend to forget: Batman is more a detective than a superhero.”
      So, so true. I wish that the Batman video games and movies would showcase this element of the character a little bit more.

      “Another ironic thing about the 2003 covers of Detective Comics is that here in Italy the image for issue # 779 has been put on the cover of a different comic book (the trade collecting the miniseries called Batman: Turning Points).”
      Very interesting. Attract the readers with a gorgeous cover and get them to take the plunge I guess.

      I’d like to make special mention of #780 and #783 as they would be third and fourth runners-up. Tim Sale, such a talented man!

      “As for Matt, I give the gold medal to Daredevil # 150, because of its stunning and gorgeous light effects. Special mention for issue # 153, because it reminds me of one of the most beautiful covers you’ve ever uploaded (Daredevil # 86).”
      Nice choices. #150 was my third runner-up. As for #153, Daredevil sure does love falling whether it be through windows or off of buildings. 🙂

      Thanks, as always, for sharing your choices.

  2. Great covers, I really like Detective Comics #778 as well. I thought Two Face looked so creepy, especially with the coin flipping up to where his damaged eye would be. Daredevil #155 is my pick with DD under attack like that, its a really good cover, and makes you wonder what happening to make his friends turn on him like that

    • “Daredevil #155 is my pick with DD under attack like that, its a really good cover, and makes you wonder what happening to make his friends turn on him like that”
      Daredevil #155 was my personal runner-up for the very reason you stated. What did Daredevil do to invoke the wrath of the Avengers and Black Widow?

      Thanks for providing your selections!

Leave a Reply

